Check out this excerpt of the 14th Amendment:

 No state shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United States; nor shall any state deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

Let’s look at a few key words from this right quick: “citizens” and “person.”

Our Founders made no mistake in making this distinction: they believed that ALL individuals should be deemed protections under the rule of law, regardless of citizenship status. Therefore, they understood the concept behind the Rule of Law’s application in a free society. As individuals, we are born with inherent liberties accompanied with a government whose few authorities include protecting individual liberties.

Sadly though, our society has fabricated this notion that the protections provided by our Constitution “apply only to the citizenry” when, in reality, that isn’t the case. In the ideal free society where government’s sole focus is the protection of our civil liberties, equal protection under the law means exactly what it says. Regardless of origin.

Don’t believe me? Read the Constitution. That’s a pretty nifty document. Furthermore, I suggest reading The Law by Frederic Bastiat.

-Nathan

P.S. I’m sorry I haven’t been posting lately, but I’ll be back on it as soon as my summer classes end. Thanks for being patient with me, everybody! I know this was a pretty short article.

